Short and Sweet..

Pretty woman wonder where my secret lies.

I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size

But when I start to tell them, they think I’m telling lies.

I say,

It’s in the reach of my arms, the span of my hips.

The stride of my step, the curl of my lips.

I’m a woman

Phenomenally.

Phenomenal woman,

that’s me.

I walk into a room just as cool as you please.

And to a man, the fellows stand or fall down on their knees.

Then they swarn around me, a hive of honey bees.

I say,

It’s the fire in my eyes, and the flash of my teeth,

the swing in my waist, and the joy in my feet.

I’m a woman

Phenomally.

Phenomenal woman,

that’s me.

Men themselves have wondered what they see in me.

They try so much, but they can’t touch my inner mystery.

When I try to show them, they say they still can’t see.

I say,

It’s the arch of my back, the sun of my smile,

the ride of my breasts, the grace of my style.

I’m a woman

Phenomally.

Phenomenal woman,

that’s me.

Now you understand, just why my head’s not bowed.

I don’t shout or jump about or have to talk real loud.

When you see me passing, It ought to make you proud.

I say,

It’s in the click of my heels, the bend of my hair,

the palm of my hand, the need of my care,

‘Cause I’m a woman

Phenomenally woman,

That’s me.

By Maya Angelou

*Side note: As I read this poem, my thoughts as a woman grew stronger and deeper. For those who know me well, understand and respect how I feel as a young woman. I’ve always believed us women have an amazing inner power. A special power to obtain ANYTHING we desire; a power we can’t buy, but slowly grow throughout time within ourselves. Therefore, Phenomenal woman, that’s me.

This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Short and Sweet..

  1. dave M says:

    πŸ™‚ i got one for you,

    If you and I should chance to meet,
    I guess you wouldn’t care;
    I’m sure you’d pass me in the street
    As if I wasn’t there;
    You’d never look me in the face,
    My modest mug to scan,
    Because I’m just a commonplace
    And Ordinary Man.

    But then, it may be, you are too
    A guy of every day,
    Who does the job he’s told to do
    And takes the wife his pay;
    Who makes a home and kids his care,
    And works with pick or pen. . . .
    Why, Pal, I guess we’re just a pair
    Of Ordinary Men.

    We plug away and make no fuss,
    Our feats are never crowned;
    And yet it’s common coves like us
    Who make the world go round.
    And as we steer a steady course
    By God’s predestined plan,
    Hats off to that almighty Force:
    THE ORDINARY MAN.
    -Service

  2. Pierina says:

    I LUV this poem! & yes u r a phenomenal woman

Leave a Reply

